The 5 Highest Calorie Starbucks Drinks

Starbucks CoffeeAh Starbucks, the Promised Land, a land flowing with Lattes and Frappuccinos; the Mecca of all things coffee all around the world.

For all of you daily Starbucks users out there, this post is for you. It could help you make some better coffee choices, drop a few pounds, or heck, even save your life someday (you can thank me later).

Now, I must say, I drink coffee nearly every morning. I head to the local coffee shop in the morning for my daily cup, nothing special, just a cup of coffee (I go more for the environment and to get work done, not the coffee itself, but we’ll talk about that a different day).

On occasion, like millions upon millions of other people around the world, I’ll go to Starbucks for coffee, just to switch things up a bit.

My favorite treat to get from Starbucks is the Java Chip Frappuccino; my mouth waters just thinking about it. Is it tasty? No. To describe it as tasty would do it an injustice; it is downright heavenly. I savor every single moment I have with that drink; all 460 calories worth.

The key for me is that I don’t have this drink each and every day. For me, it is a treat, something I can enjoy on occasion. This ensures that I don’t consume that extra 400+ calories every day and slowly have the pounds creep up on me.

How can you go to Starbucks every morning and not have to worry about gaining weight from all of those calories?

Starbucks Double Chocolately Chip

For starters take a look at this list of the top 5 highest calorie drinks at Starbucks:

  1. Double Chocolatly Chip Frappuccino – 670 calories
  2. Eggnog Latte – 610 calories
  3. White Hot Chocolate – 520 calories
  4. White Chocolate Mocha – 510 calories
  5. Caramel Brulee Latte – 460 calories

These calorie numbers are based on the Venti size without whipped cream. If you add in the whipped cream you are looking at another 70+ calories for each drink.


Would I say avoid these drinks completely? No, not at all. However, if you are consuming them every day it is going to make managing your weight much more difficult. Think about how hard you’ll have to exercise just to maintain your weight with the additional 500+ calories from these drinks. Oh and just a fun fact, the McDonald’s Big Mac is 550 calories, just something to think about :). I said you don’t have to avoid them completely, so what should you do? Save them for a treat like I do! Here are two reasons why.
  1. By not having them every day you will avoid plenty of excess calories and this will help you maintain your weight more easily.
  2. Because you are saving these drinks as a treat for yourself you will enjoy them much, much more. Savor them, take your time with them, actually TASTE them for goodness sake.

I know some of you out there will say you can’t do it; you can’t give up your daily delight. To you I would say to at least control the size of your drink if you are having one of the higher calorie options every day. Try out the Tall size instead of the Grande or Venti. This will save you a great deal of calories over time.

Live EPIC

Justin

Enjoying my posts? Subscribe here to join the EPIC community of people wanting to get the most out of life!

If you are looking for more than just a change in coffee to lose weight give personal training a try. With online personal training you can receive customized workouts and nutritional strategies from anywhere as long as you can receive emails or text messages.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Fat Loss, Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 5 Highest Calorie Starbucks Drinks

  1. Pingback: The Number of Calories In Coffee May Surprise You

Leave a Reply

