The Glorious Cheat Day!

I traveled to Oshkosh this past Saturday to visit my best friend, my bff, my bro, my home slice, Zach.

After catching up for a bit I suggested we eat some insane amounts of ice cream, cookies, or whatever other treats we preferred.

We decided on cookies and ice cream. A fine choice I must say.

After picking up one of his friends to join us in our feast, we went to the grocery store, picked out our desired treats, and went back to his house to do some damage.

The tasty treats we decided on were vanilla ice cream, Neapolitan ice cream, soft batch chocolate chip cookies, coconut dream cookies, and for toppings hot fudge and caramel. Mmmm!

I devoured cookie after cookie, scoop of ice cream after scoop of ice cream, and it was so, so tasty. I’ll be the first to admit that I LOVE food and those treats really hit the spot.

You may be thinking, how can a personal trainer eat like this? How can they stray from eating veggies and chicken every day?

First off, by no means was that day the everyday norm for me. You see, Saturday is my typical cheat day; the one day I can eat whatever I want, whatever I’ve been craving all week, whatever junk food my tummy desires.

Secondly, to minimize the damage on a cheat day I’ll typically start with a healthy breakfast and lunch and then go hard after that. On that particular day I had eggs and turkey for breakfast and then salmon and mixed veggies for lunch.

Lastly, I am human, just like you! I like to enjoy a variety of different “unhealthy” foods, but I control when I have them and how much. By consistently eating healthy foods for 80-90% of my meals I allow myself the luxury of eating unhealthy when I choose.

There are many different healthy eating strategies and philosophies out there, but the important thing is to find the option that works best for you and your lifestyle. Once you find out what that is you can be happier, eating the foods you want while maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

I gave you a quick look at some of the foods I eat on a cheat day, but I’d love to know what types of foods you would eat on a cheat day. You can never have too many options for cheat day meals 😉 Comment below and let me know!

Justin

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

