Your Personal Mission Statement – Crafting A Vision for Your Life

First Things FirstA few weeks ago, while reading First Things First by Stephen R. Covey, I came to a chapter of the book called “The Passion of Vision.”

I feel like this chapter alone could have been the reason why this book was a New York Times Bestseller. Seriously, it is that empowering.

In this section of the book Covey writes about “Creating and Living an Empowering Mission Statement.”

 

Now, this chapter should really interest you, but why?

Because if you do the exercises from this chapter I can guarantee you will have tremendously more clarity with how you live your life each and every day.

How can I guarantee this? Because I did the exercises; every single one of them.

This took me roughly 5 hours on one Sunday morning and afternoon and I can say with 100% certainty that it was worth my time investment.

Upon completion I used the things I had written down from them to create a mission statement for my life.

Of course, you may not have the book in your possession at the moment (I highly suggest you buy it!) and so I’m going to give you some examples from it to get you going.

The first exercise in helping you create your personal mission statement is this:

Visualize your eightieth birthday or your fiftieth wedding anniversary. Try to imagine a wonderful celebration where friends, loved ones, and associates from all walks of your life come to honor you. Imagine it in as much detail as you can – the place, the people, the decorations.

See these individuals in your mind’s eye as they stand, one by one, to pay tribute to you. Assume they represent roles you are now fulfilling in life – perhaps as a parent, teacher, manager, or community servant. Also assume that you have fulfilled these roles to the utmost of your potential.

What would these people say? What qualities of character would you be remembered for? What outstanding contributions would they mention? Look around at the people there. What important difference have you made in their lives?

As you ponder, try writing down your roles, and beside each, the tribute statement you would like to be said of you on this occasion.

How do you feel when you look at this vision of what your life could represent?

Going through this first exercise helped me a great deal. I really think it is important to spend time answering questions such as these so we can better understand the type of person we are trying to become.

The next exercise I found extremely powerful was exercise #3 from this section. In this 3rd exercise Covy lists questions that will  help you mold your personal mission statement.

Answering all of these took the majority of the 5 hours I spent on the 7 exercises Covy outlines, but again, very worth it. Here they are:

  • What do I feel are my greatest strengths?
  • What strengths have others who know me well noticed in me?
  • What do I deeply enjoy doing?
  • What qualities of character do I most admire in others?
  • Who is the one person who has made the greatest positive impact on my life?
  • Why was that person/persons able to have such a significant impact?
  • What have been my happiest moments in life?
  • Why were they happy?
  • If I had unlimited time and resources, what would I choose to do?
  • When I daydream, what do I see myself doing?
  • What are the three or four most important things to me?
  • When I look at my work life, what activities do I consider of greatest worth?
  • When I look at my personal life, what activities do I consider of greatest worth?
  • What can I do best that would be of worth to others?
  • What talents do I have that no one else really knows about?
  • Though I may have dismissed such thoughts many times before for various reasons, are there things I feel I really should do? What are they?
  • What are my physical needs and capacities?
  • How satisfied am I with my current level of fulfillment in the physical area?
  • What quality-of-life results do I desire that are different from what I now have in this area?
  • What principles will create the results? 
  • What are my social needs and capacities?
  • How satisfied am I with my current level of fulfillment in the social area?
  • What quality-of-life results do I desire that are different from what I now have in this area?
  • What principles will create those results?
  • What are my mental needs and capacities?
  • How satisfied am I with my current level of fulfillment in the mental area?
  • What quality-of-life results do I desire that are different from what I now have in this area?
  • What principles will create those results?
  • What are my spiritual needs and capacities?
  • Satisfied?
  • Results desired?
  • Principles?
  • Where do I see my physical, social, mental, and spiritual needs and capacities overlapping? 
  • What are my important roles in life?
  • What are the most important lifetime goals I want to fulfill in each role?
  • What results am I currently getting in my life that I like?
  • What paradigms are producing those results?
  • What results am I currently getting in my life that I don’t like?
  • What are the paradigms that are producing those results?
  • What paradigms would produce better results?
  • What would I really like to be and do in my life? 
  • What are the most important principles upon which my being and doing are based?

I know this was A LOT of questions, but I encourage you to take the time to go through them.

Block off some time by yourself to really think deeply on them if you want to create a truly empowering personal mission statement.

If you are having doubts about it being worth it to spend the time to do so I would give you these kind words from Nike: JUST DO IT.

This book has a ton of other great information in it, so if you want to get the rest of the exercises in it and read the other chapters then go buy it. What have you got to lose?

Have a great day!

Justin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Figuring Out Life, Life Thoughts, Lifestyle, Personal Development, Productivity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Your Personal Mission Statement – Crafting A Vision for Your Life

  1. Pingback: Be Intentional | Be amazing

  2. Pingback: Want To Succeed? Create A Personal Mission Statement | The Blog of Justin Gordon

  3. Pingback: Enjoying Every Moment | The Blog of Justin Gordon

  4. Pingback: 100th Blog Post! Here Are My Top 6 Favorites Thus Far | The Blog of Justin Gordon

  5. Pingback: Who Do You Want to Become? | The Blog of Justin Gordon

Leave a Reply

