Why 400 Posts In 400 Days?

4th of JulyThis past summer when I first tried out this whole blogging thing the audience I had in mind was really just my friends and family.

During the summer I was an intern at Fitness Quest 10 in San Diego, California and I wanted to share my experience with them.

Blogging was an easy way to keep my family and friends up to date with things I was doing; things like catching passes from Saints Quarterback Drew Brees, helping run various kids camps, taking in knowledge bombs from other trainers, attending national fitness conferences like IDEA and Perform Better, taking adventures to places like Laguna Beach, enjoying that SoCal sunshine – you know, fun stuff like that.

Fast forward a few months to November and I had continued to blog, but only sporadically. I posted some quality things, but not with the consistency I really wanted. I was becoming more serious about blogging, but still wasn’t sure what I wanted my blog to become.

By the end of November, however, I developed a clearer vision of what my blog could really become – a tremendous platform to help people, share ideas, and make a positive impact on the world.

Now the big question for me was: How should I go about running this blog to help out as many people as possible?

In thinking about this question I realized that I could no longer post sporadically. If I wanted to affect more lives I would have to be consistent week in and week out, but this wasn’t always the easiest thing for me.

I debated between posting once a week, twice a week, on certain days each week, every 5 days, and so on. I really couldn’t decide on what I wanted to do so I had a solution – post every day.

By posting something every day I figured that the blog would always be on my mind. Why is this important? Why does this matter? Because it would mean that I would always be searching for new ideas and methods to help people. It would also make me more aware of the world on a daily basis.

You see, when I posted sporadically I really didn’t think about the blog all that much. When certain ideas came about that seemed good enough to write a post about then I’d write something.

With this idea of posting every day I knew that it could be difficult. I knew that I would need something in place to ensure that I actually posted every day. So, what did I come up with?

400 posts in 400 days.

Originally I thought that I would post on my blog once per day for a year – 365 consecutive blogs posts. However, it was almost December at this point and I didn’t want to wait till January to write more consistently. After all, I don’t believe that you need a new year to make a change in your life.

I wrote a blog post on the first day of December and decided to post on my blog 400 days in a row, taking me all the way through 2014. I’ve really just begun, but I’ll do my best to keep things going and post valuable information each and every day.

My mission in life is to inspire people to live life to the fullest and with this blog I want to grow a community of people looking to do just that. So, if you are enjoying my posts I ask that you comment on them and share them. I’d appreciate it greatly!

Have a great day!

Justin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Changing the World, Life Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why 400 Posts In 400 Days?

  1. Zach says:

    Beast mode. Looking forward to them.

  2. I love it Justin! You are inspiring me already. The only way to be great at something is to do it a lot, and that is a lot of writing brother! I look forward to it.

  3. Pingback: High Existence: 30 Challenges for 30 Days | The Blog of Justin Gordon

  4. Pingback: Don’t Quit | The Blog of Justin Gordon

Leave a Reply

