Automobile University

Zig Ziglar, one of the most inspirational motivational speakers every, had a method of learning he called “Automobile University”.

With all the driving that people do on a daily basis Zig believed that we could learn a tremendous amount by listening to educational programs as we drive – our very own Automobile University.

The best part about this university is that it is FREE. Even better than that, we get to choose exactly what “classes” we take – we create our own major.

I talked about this concept in a previous blog post and really think you should try it out.

For me, as a fitness professional and entrepreneur, I choose to listen to things that will help me grow in both respects.

For instance, while I drive to the gym or while I drive to my client’s homes I’ll listen to podcasts featuring some of the top fitness professionals, nutritionists, or entrepreneurs.

This past weekend I drove about 7 hours round trip out to La Crosse, Wisconsin and this is what I listened to:

  1. The School of Greatness Podcast
  2. Bigger Better Stronger Faster Podcast
  3. I Love Marketing Podcast
  4. Harvard Business Review IdeaCast

These are some podcasts I listen to quite frequently and they are very informative and motivational.

Previously, what I’ve done for choosing podcasts is simply search for some of the top people I want to learn from – people who are absolutely crushing it, achieving great success, and making a huge impact on the world.

If you do a simple search in podcasts on iTunes for a certain person you can find all the podcasts they are featured in and download all of those to your iPod. If you are interested in nutrition, fitness, or strength and conditioning some people to look for are:

  1. John Berardi
  2. Dan John
  3. John Romaniello
  4. Eric Cressey
  5. Alwyn Cosgrove

There are a bunch others, but this would be a great place to start.

In terms of listening to essentially the most interesting man in the world I would tell you to listen to anything with Tim Ferris. He is the author of The Four Hour Workweek, The Four Hour Body, and The Four Hour Chef. His books are fantastic and the podcasts he is in are excellent as well.

The amount you can learn from podcasts is tremendous. I encourage you to attend Automobile University daily if you really want to learn, grow, and become more successful at anything.

Have a great day!

Justin

 

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Personal Development, Productivity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

