Burning Fat And Getting Fit 15 Seconds At A Time

High Intensity Interval TrainingAh yes, back to my favorite topic – interval training.

If you haven’t already found this out, interval training is one of the best ways to burn fat and get fit.

The higher the intensity of these intervals the better results you will get from them – makes sense of course.

Nearly all of my clients will do some type of high intensity interval training based on their ability level.

Typically, if the client can handle it, we’ll do intervals on a treadmill because running is more taxing on your system than a lot of other forms of exercise. However, I like to switch things up and add some variety so we’ll do intervals on a bike or even on a rowing machine.

One of my favorite intervals I have my clients do consists of a 15 second work time followed by a recovery time that can vary in length.

During the work time of these intervals (The time you are actually running) I have my clients going hard, not exactly a 100% all out sprint, but the idea of high intensity intervals is just that – they are highly intense. 

If you are a beginner and trying out these 15 second intervals I would give yourself 45-60 seconds of rest between each rep. Now this may seem easy for the first few reps, but see if you can handle this protocol for 10 or 15 reps and adjust accordingly.

For those of you that are in better shape and have been working out somewhat consistently for a couple months I would say a good rest time is about 15 seconds. This type of 1:1 ratio of work to rest will be plenty difficult, especially if you are running hard during your work time.

There are two types of rest you have for these intervals – active rest and passive rest. Active rest would be where you are still moving, but just at a much slower pace. Passive rest would be where you aren’t moving at all.

If I have a client doing high intensity intervals on a treadmill I’ll have them hop off the treadmill for their rest periods – this would be passive rest.

However, for biking I’ll often times have people perform active rest – pedaling slowly during their rest periods.

Because of the high intensity nature of this type of exercise it is great for burning fat and helping you get in better cardiovascular shape.

As I’ve mentioned before, progress is super important, so I’m always looking for ways to help my clients progress a little more.

There are 3 ways in which I help my clients progress with their interval training:

  1. Shorten the rest time. If you are a beginner you’ll start with 45-60 seconds of rest between these 15 second intervals, but we’ll eventually work down towards 15 seconds of rest. This will drastically change how intense the activity is.
  2. Increase the speed. Maybe you’re starting at a speed of 6.0 mph on a treadmill for your interval, well, progress is critical, so you’ll slowly increase your speed as the weeks go by.
  3. Increase the resistance. If doing intervals on a treadmill I like to have people go on an incline – this again makes the intervals more intense.

I love intervals. More specifically, I love short, highly intense intervals.

This type of training, although difficult, is preferable to me and many of my clients because of the minimal time it takes to get results as well as the obvious lack of boredom you’ll have while doing it.

EPIC Lifestyle Newsletter Sign Up

If you have been enjoying my posts thus far I encourage you to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll share with you even more insights to help you get fit and live life to the fullest.

You can sign up by clicking this link here or the link above. Don’t worry, I won’t be spamming you with emails every day, but you can expect some valuable information every week or two.

Have a great day!

Justin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Exercise for Beginners, Fat Loss, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

