Embracing This Endless Wisconsin Winter

So, we just got another snowstorm in Wisconsin.

I, like many of my fellow Wisconsinites, am sick of winter.

Sure, it is cool when there is snow around Christmas time – it looks pretty, it’s festive, you can go sledding, snowshoeing, skiing, snowboarding, and it’s all fine and dandy.

However, that feeling does not last – at least not for me.

After going through subzero day after subzero day and snowfall after snowfall I’m ready for some warmer weather and the Spring Season can’t come soon enough.

Today, there is a glimmer of hope, but why you may ask?

Because today there is suppose to be a high of 38 degrees.

Will this above freezing weather last? Is it here to stay? Nope, not at all. I’m sure it will be much colder in just a few short days.

At this point it may seem like I’m just ranting, which I guess in a way I am, but I have to say that even though we have this winter weather which never seems to end, we should embrace it and be grateful.

What? How can this be? How can we express gratitude when this endless winter weather seems to suck the life out of us?

For starters, let’s open our minds up a bit.

Not everyone dislikes this winter weather. Heck, just look at the Winter Olympics, I’m sure those athletes are pretty alright with it being cold out and many of them probably wish it was colder in Sochi.

Second of all, there are many worse things to worry about than a bit of snow and cold weather. 

Did you sleep inside last night?

Did you go to bed hungry?

Did you worry about clean drinking water?

Did you struggle to take care of any of your basic needs at all yesterday?

My guess is no. We are blessed in many, many ways. Our worries pale in comparison to other people’s worries around the world.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve complained a bit about the weather here in Wisconsin this winter, but isn’t this weather expected every winter?

I mean sure, it isn’t normally this cold and we don’t always get this much snow, but it is Wisconsin for goodness sake – crazy weather is the norm.

As I head out into this Wisconsin weather soon, shovel off my car, and head to the gym I will laugh off this crazy winter weather. Putting things in perspective a bit always helps me remain positive and hopeful. I hope it will help you too.

Winter will end, spring will come, and we’ll appreciate the new season that much more – embracing winter is all we can do 🙂

Enjoy what you have been reading?

If you have been enjoying my posts thus far I encourage you to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll share with you even more insights to help you get fit and live life to the fullest.

You can sign up by clicking this link here. Don’t worry, I won’t be spamming you with emails every day, but you can expect some valuable information every week or two.

To work with me as your trainer simply contact me. I work in the Milwaukee area and I’ll usually get back to you within a day or two and we’ll work together to help you accomplish your goals.

Have a great day!

Justin

 

 

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Life Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

