Big Mac vs. Whopper: Which is Healthier?

whopper-bigmac-2ea53opLet me start off by saying that I love burgers – I think they are absolutely one of the tastiest foods out there and I’d prefer a good burger over many other foods.

On my last cheat day for instance I had a Big Mac and thought it was delightful – ba-da-ba-ba-ba – I was lovin’ it.

Now, based on the title of this post you may be hoping that I’d tell you either the Big Mac or the Whopper is healthier for you, but I’m really going to tell you this:

It doesn’t matter.

Now just hold your horses for a bit if you are upset by this – let me explain and help better your perspective on things.

The issue of a Big Mac or a Whopper or any other fast food burger being “healthier” is basically irrelevant.

If you are worrying about issues such as this one and not looking at the amount of food you are consuming, the amount of protein in your diet, your hydration levels, or your exercise habits, then you are going to have difficulty reaching your goals – regardless of what they may be.

You know just as well as I do that fast food tends not to be the healthiest option, (Have you seen Super Size Me?)  so what can you do about your cravings for a Big Mac or Whopper? How can you consume these and still lose weight or stay fit?

Well, there are two options I have for you:

  1. The 80/20 rule. Basically with this thought process the idea is to eat healthy 80% of the time and indulge 20% of the time. If you are eating 3 meals per day plus 2 snacks you are looking at roughly 35 feeding opportunities per week. Using this method you could eat basically whatever you want 7 times per week with the other 28 times being completely healthy meals. For many people this works great. For those of you who can’t control the amount you are consuming 20% of the time this may be an issue for you. Try this method out and see what you think – just make sure those healthy meal times are completely clean – no cookies, chips, and all those other unhealthy foods during that time.
  2. One cheat day per week. This is a method I’ve personally used for a fair amount of time and I’ve found it works well. You’ll eat healthy 6 days per week and then 1 day per week you’ll eat whatever you want. I’ll often have my cheat day be a Saturday and I’ll go hard on that day. Anything I’ve been craving throughout the week I’ll just have on this day. This method isn’t for everyone, especially if you can’t stay on track during the week, but I’ve found it works well because you are selecting one day ahead of time to eat all the Big Macs, Whoppers, or other foods you’ve been craving. When you want something during the week, just tell yourself that you can have it on cheat day!

Try out one of these methods and see how it works for you. Remember, we’re all different and can handle different things.

For those of you who are still wondering about the Big Mac vs. Whopper health debate let me throw some stats at you:

Big Mac – 550 calories, 29 grams of fat

Whopper – 630 calories, 35 grams of fat

Now THAT is a cheat day burger!

Now THAT is a cheat day burger!

These aren’t going to be the best foods in the world for you, but not the worst either.

I’ll tell you this though, if you enjoy them and want to have them occasional, go for it! 

I’m not saying you should have them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day, but come on, you have to enjoy life a bit!

Do you already use the 80/20 method of eating or the one cheat day per week method?

Leave a comment below and let me know how they are working for you, I’m sure other people would love to see which method works best!

Do you want to learn more about nutrition to help you with your fitness goals?

If you have been enjoying my posts thus far I encourage you to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll share with you even more insights to help you get fit and live life to the fullest.

You can sign up by clicking this link here. Don’t worry, I won’t be spamming you with emails every day, but you can expect some valuable information every week or two.

To work with me as your trainer simply contact me. I work in the Milwaukee area and I’ll usually get back to you within a day or two and we’ll work together to help you accomplish your goals.

Have a great day!

Justin

Gallery | This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

